I-AM Global Macro Convexity Fund

Focus on convex payoff profiles

The I-AM Global Macro Convexity Fund follows a discretionary macro strategy and will invest in a variety of different risk factors and asset classes through derivatives. The focus will be on convex payoff profiles.

"The use of tailor-made derivatives permits risk profiles that should lead to stable performance in turbulent times."
Thomas Wihan, Senior Fund Manager at I-AM

 

Convex positioning

- Limited loss potential (the invested premium).

- In periods of stable markets, the fund may invest segments of its assets in products that benefit from the passage of time, e.g. currency carry trades that compensate the time decay of options.

- Positioning through long options usually saves the fund from becoming a forced seller during market disruptions.

Focus on three overarching investment objectives

Absolute return - Generating returns regardless of market conditions through a balanced portfolio (balanced "risk on", risk off" and market-neutral positioning).

Low or even negative correlation to traditional assets intended - The broad investment universe (equities, currencies, interest rates, credit as well as their volatilities and correlations) ensures exposure to a large number of risk factors and thus a high degree of diversification.

Risk-reducing potential - By actively taking long volatility positions, the fund can offer a portfolio-stabilising effect in asset allocation and thus replace different hedging approaches at low cost.

"Risk on - Risk off" and market-neutral trades

Asymmetric risk profiles, such as the purchase of options, allow the fund to profit in the event of large market movements, with risk limited to the option premium. This makes it possible to generate returns even in uncertain times, as the positions benefit disproportionately from their sensitivity to the increase in volatility and provide a stabilisation of performance. On the other hand, interesting long-term investment opportunities, such as yield curve steepening or high-yield currencies, are added to the portfolio as strategic positions. These should provide a base return.

In the portfolio construction, attention is paid to balance - "risk on", "risk off" and market-neutral positions should balance each other out. Tail risk positions are added to the portfolio to achieve the lowest possible correlation to traditional asset classes. The aim of this approach is to absorb the losses of "risk on" positions in the event of market turbulence. This structural long volatility positioning should work particularly well in times of market disruption and is applied across all asset classes.

"The fund strategy requires a risk management approach at the individual position level. This requires an understanding of the individual risk drivers and their evolution over time."

Marko Milovanovic, Senior Risk Manager at I-AM

 

Factsheet & Market Commentary

The I-AM Global Macro Convexity Fund invests globally in different asset classes according to a discretionary approach that takes advantage of flexibility and fast reaction time within well-defined risk management limits. The strategy focuses on opportunistic trading (i.e. positions are only taken when risk factors appear favourably valued by historical standards). In portfolio construction, attention is paid to balance - "risk on", "risk off" and market-neutral positions are balanced. The products used include traditional instruments such as equities and bonds as well as exchange-traded and OTC-traded derivatives, with a focus on convexity. Thus, predominantly asymmetrical payoff profiles are used, which offer appealing return expectations with basically manageable risk.

Fund Information

Factsheet
Legal Documents

The basis for the purchase of investment units is the current sales prospectus, the key investor information document ("KID", "KIID") as well as the annual report and, if older than eight months, the semi-annual report. These documents are available to interested parties free of charge in German at the Investment Company LRI Invest S.A., 9A Rue Gabriel Lippermann,5365 Schuttrange, Luxembourg, and on the internet at www.lri-invest.lu.

 

to top

I-AM Global Macro Convexity Fund

Fokus auf konvexe Auszahlungsprofile

Der I-AM Global Macro Convexity Fund verfolgt eine diskretionäre Makrostrategie und wird über Derivate in eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Risikofaktoren und Asset-Klassen investieren. Der Fokus wird dabei auf konvexe Auszahlungsprofile gelegt.

„Der Einsatz von maßgeschneiderten Derivaten ermöglicht Risikoprofile, die in turbulenten Zeiten zu stabiler Performance führen sollen.“

Thomas Wihan, Senior Fund Manager bei I-AM

Konvexe Positionierung

  • Begrenztes Verlustpotenzial (die investierte Prämie).

  • In Zeiten ruhiger Märkte investiert der Fonds einen Teil seines Vermögens in Produkte, die vom Zeitablauf profitieren, z.B. Devisen-Carry-Trades, die den Zeitwertverlust von Optionen kompensieren.

  • Die Positionierung durch Long-Optionen bewahrt den Fonds in der Regel davor, bei Marktstörungen zu einem Zwangsverkäufer zu werden.

Fokus auf drei übergeordnete Anlageziele

  • Absolute Return - Generierung von Erträgen unabhängig von der Marktlage durch ein ausgewogenes Portfolio (ausbalancierte „risk on“, risk off“ und markneutrale Positionierung).
  • Geringe oder negative Korrelation zu den traditionellen Asset-Klassen - Das breite Anlage-Universum (Aktien, Währungen, Zinsen, Credit sowie deren Volatilitäten und Korrelationen) gewährleistet ein Exposure gegenüber einer Vielzahl an Risikofaktoren und somit einen hohen Grad an Diversifikation.
  • Risikoreduzierendes Potenzial - Durch das aktive Eingehen von Long Volatility-Positionen kann der Fonds in der Asset Allocation eine portfoliostabilisierende Wirkung bieten und dadurch unterschiedliche Hedging-Ansätze kostengünstig ersetzen.

"Risk on - Risk off" und marktneutrale Trades

Asymmetrische Risikoprofile, wie z.B. der Kauf von Optionen, ermöglichen es dem Fonds, im Falle von großen Marktbewegungen zu profitieren, wobei das Risiko grundsätzlich auf die Optionsprämie beschränkt bleibt. Dadurch können auch in unsicheren Zeiten Erträge erwirtschaftet werden, da die Positionen durch ihre Sensitivität auf den Anstieg der Volatilität überproportional profitieren und für eine Stabilisierung der Performance sorgen. Andererseits werden langfristig interessante Investitionsmöglichkeiten, wie z.B. Zinskurvensteilheit oder Hochzinswährungen, als strategische Positionen ins Portfolio gelegt. Diese sollten einen Basisertrag liefern.

Bei der Portfoliokonstruktion wird auf Ausgewogenheit geachtet – „risk on“, „risk off“ und marktneutrale Trades halten einander die Waage. Um eine möglichst niedrige Korrelation zu traditionellen Anlageklassen zu erreichen, werden dem Portfolio Tail-Risikopositionen hinzugefügt. Ziel dieses Ansatzes ist es, die Verluste von „risk on“-Positionen im Falle von Marktturbulenzen zu absorbieren. Diese strukturelle Long-Volatilitäts-Positionierung sollte besonders in Zeiten von Marktstörungen gut funktionieren und wird quer über alle Anlageklassen angewendet.

„Die Fondstrategie erfordert einen Risikomanagement-Zugang auf der Einzelpositionsebene. Dafür ist ein Verständnis der einzelnen Risikotreiber und ihrer Entwicklung im zeitlichen Verlauf notwendig.“

Marko Milovanovic, Senior Risk Manager bei I-AM

Factsheet & Marktkommentar

Der I-AM Global Macro Convexity Fund investiert weltweit in unterschiedliche Assetklassen nach einem diskretionären Ansatz, der die Flexibilität und schnelle Reaktionszeit innerhalb von genau definierten Risikomanagement-Grenzen nutzt. Im Vordergrund der Strategie steht ein opportunistisches Handeln (d.h. Positionen werden nur eingegangen, wenn die Risikofaktoren im historischen Vergleich günstig bewertet erscheinen). Bei der Portfoliokonstruktion wird auf Ausgewogenheit geachtet - „risk on", „risk off" und marktneutrale Positionen halten sich die Waage. Die verwendeten Produkte umfassen sowohl die traditionellen Instrumente wie Aktien und Anleihen als auch börsengehandelte und OTC-gehandelte Derivate, wobei der Fokus auf Konvexität liegt. Es kommen somit überwiegend asymmetrische Auszahlungsprofile zur Anwendung, die ansprechende Renditeerwartungen bei grundsätzlich überschaubarem Risiko bieten.

Aktuelle Fondsinfos

Factsheet
Gesetzliche Verkaufsunterlagen

Grundlage für den Kauf von Investmentanteilen ist der jeweils gültige Verkaufsprospekt, die wesentlichen Anlegerinformationen („KID", „KIID") sowie der Jahresbericht und, falls älter als acht Monate, der Halbjahresbericht. Diese Unterlagen stehen dem Interessenten bei der Kapitalanlagegesellschaft LRI Invest S.A., 9A Rue Gabriel Lippermann,5365 Schuttrange, Luxemburg, sowie im Internet unter www.lri-invest.lu kostenlos in deutscher Sprache zur Verfügung.

nach oben